Pin It

The sitting president of Kenya Uhuru Kenyatta will be sworn in for his second term on 28 November 2017 at Kasarani stadium. Some of the dignitaries expected to attend 2017 Uhuru Kenyatta swearing-in include Israeli Prime minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Tanzania president John Magufuli, Uganda president Yoweri Mseveni, Ian Khama Botswana president, Hage Geingob Namibia president, Paul Kagame Rwanda president, Edga Lungu Zambia president, Ethiopia president Mulatu Toshome and other presidents from Djibouti, Togo and Somali.

Security will be very high as the president and his deputy take oath administered by Chief Register of Judiciary Anne Amadi in presence of Chief Justice David Maraga. As expected there will be 21 gun salute by the Kenya Defense forces. Unlike the 2013 swearing-in, this time the president will not be given the constitution and sword of the commander-in chief as it’s not a requirement in the case of the re-election

The numbers of people expected to attend 2017 Uhuru Kenyatta swearing-in is around 100,000. Kasarani stadium has a capacity of 60,000 but the rest are expected to follow the event from the screen that will be put outside the stadium.

2017 Uhuru Kenyatta swearing-in is estimated to cost around 300 million Kenyan shilling. Hundreds of police have been called up to ensure enough security of all those who will attend. Officers from the Anti-terrosim unit, GSU, AP, CID and Kenya police. Assistance from NYS and county askaris will be utilized

Not only are the dignitaries invited also the common Kenyans who inspired the nation in one way or another, some include the 2017 top KCPE student Goldalyn Kakuya and her parents, Martin Kamotho the famous Githeri man and others.

Pin It